Frontier Psychiatrist

Plan B Opts for Plan B

Posted on: June 7, 2010

The recently released video to “Prayin'” has gotten us so excited that we almost flew across the Atlantic to get our hands on a copy of Plan B’s newest album, The Defamation of Strickland Banks.

Luckily, we remembered that the Internets allow us to buy things from other countries even when they’re not available here. Often compared to a range of artists from Justin Timberlake to Kurt Cobain (apparently because he has screamed “Smells Like Teen Spirit” at a concert … can anyone confirm?), Ben Drew, aka Plan B, wrote and directed the upcoming film which “Prayin'” is a part.

B’s come a long way from crooning generic popsongs when he was a teenager. After going grimey with Who Needs Actions When You Got Words, which included our favorite Hall and Oates sampling to date, Plan B has created a soulful concept album. Defamation is the sweet spot where the artist combines a compelling narrative (about a singer who is wrongly accused of a crime and gets tossed into the clink) with his skills for rhyme and his newly revealed ability to sing. “Welcome to Hell” is a sick and twisted, gorgeous number (the FP staff has been called such things) about the first steps into prison. In it, Drew’s style is reminiscent of Smokey Robinson, whereas “Stay Too Long” is pop anthem-meets-rap break.

It’s very, very exciting. Because we’ve all learned to fear the crossover album.

Plan B – Welcome To Hell

Plan B – Stay Too Long

Plan B – She Said (16-Bit Remix)


2 Responses to "Plan B Opts for Plan B"

I really enjoyed this video- and the blog because I didn’t know about Plan B before. Thanks for sharing. As far as the video, I’m a big fan of anything with dance-off moments. Anytime the cops try to rough me up, I break into breakdaning. A truly appropriate way to handle any disagreement.

[…] plays out the drama of a wrongly accused criminal in The Defamation of Strickland Banks, reviewed on FP in June. This song is […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Follow Us:

Send Us Your Music:


L.V. Lopez, Publisher
Keith Meatto, Editor-In-Chief
Peter Lillis, Managing Editor
Freya Bellin
Andrew Hertzberg
Franklin Laviola
Gina Myers
Jared Thomas
Jordan Mainzer


James Tadd Adcox
Michael Bakkensen
Sophie Barbasch
John Raymond Barker
Jeffery Berg
P.J. Bezanson
Lee Bob Black
Jessica Blank
Mark Blankenship
Micaela Blei
Amy Braunschweiger
Jeb Brown
Jamie Carr
Laura Carter
Damien Casten
Krissa Corbett Kavouras
Jillian Coneys
Jen Davis
Chris Dippel
Claire Dippel
Amy Elkins
Mike Errico
Alaina Ferris
Lucas Foglia
Fryd Frydendahl
Tyler Gilmore
Tiffany Hairston
Django Haskins
Todd Hido
Paul Houseman
Susan Hyon
Michael Itkoff
Eric Jensen
David S. Jung
Eric Katz
Will Kenton
Michael Kingsbaker
Steven Klein
Katie Kline
Anna Kushner
Jim Knable
Jess Lacher
Chris Landriau
Caitlin Leffel
David Levi
Daniel F. Levin
Carrie Levy
Jim Lillis
Sophie Lyvoff
Max Maddock
Bob McGrory
Chris Lillis Meatto
Mark Meatto
Kevin Mueller
Chris Q. Murphy
Gina Myers
Tim Myers
Alex Nackman
Michael Nicholoff
Elisabeth Nicholson
Nicole Pettigrew
Allyson Paty
Dana Perry
Jared R. Pike
Mayumi Shimose Poe
Marisa Ptak
Sarah Robbins
Anjoli Roy
Beeb Salzer
Terry Selucky
Serious Juice
David Skeist
Suzanne Farrell Smith
Amy Stein
Jay Tarbath
Christianne Tisdale
Phillip Toledano
Joe Trapasso
Sofie van Dam
Jeff Wilser
Susan Worsham
Khaliah Williams
David Wilson
James Yeh
Bernard Yenelouis
Wayan Zoey

Listening To:

Sons of Dionysus

A Transmedia Novel of Myth, Mirth, and the Magical Excess of Youth.