Frontier Psychiatrist

Two Poems by Allyson Paty

Posted on: August 26, 2010


PATRIA

My father like every good father
has fingers sturdy as boulders.
Like boulders they make no sound.

Every morning he buttons his shirt
in the dark. He won’t take notice
if the cat spends the night hunting

and drops a cockroach at his feet.
Whenever he steps out, the hall light
catches his face. Casts it back

to my mother. A jaw line so straight
she will take him for a man who lives
by the sound of clock gears alone.

A man with no time for music, ergo empty.
Ergo he cannot be my source. And yet.
My father brought a song to my cradle.

First I had to bring him home. One: set
a chair in the hall. Two: call the elevator.
Three: wait. I called and called again

until my father like ever good father at last
returned. When the doors opened onto him
he felt like a thing  I’d drawn from a well.

What we sang was a fictional anthem
for a fictional man. One to show love
of country even as he flees. I’d say Father.

What is Edelwiess? A white flower of course.
And fuzzy. Like the cat? No, not like the cat.
Think more like the moss that covers a stone.

Or your baby sister’s head when you take it
into your hand. He dimmed the lamp and sang 

once more. So my sleep dissolved him.

AFTERWORD

Selma Erwin has been dead now
some years. Twice she touched me.

After breakfast she turned my wrist
and dropped a moth into my hand.

When I think of her skin, I don’t
think of her skin but of my hand

dressed in powder from the wing.
When my mother smells lavender

she says her name. I hear Selma
was born in a house with roses so fat

the florist came to strike up a deal.
Her father died early and her mother

walked her slowly through the garden
and then sent her from the house.

I say her eyes were yellow beryl.
My mother says aquamarine.

She was married in a house that burned.
After lunch she brought me to the chimney

which stood alone. She asked me to unclip
her hair and handed me her tortoise comb.

Allyson Paty was raised in New York City, where she continues to live. In 2009 her poems were published in Tin House as part of their New Voices series. Her poems have also appeared in the text journal A Similar but Different Quality and the website Underwater New York.

Photos: Laura G. Duncan.
Tags:

2 Responses to "Two Poems by Allyson Paty"

The second piece “Afterward” ..from the wonderful & truely provocative image of legs.. to the powerful conclusion was romantic (the old definition) as all get out.
This moved me/ I’m thinking that ms. Allyson Paty is better than “deft” as a wordsmith & storyteller. I plan to investigate her work/ thanx for sharing her.

“Afterword” is the title actually

Leave a Reply

Follow Us:

Send Us Your Music:

Staff

L.V. Lopez, Publisher
Keith Meatto, Editor-In-Chief
Peter Lillis, Managing Editor
Freya Bellin
Andrew Hertzberg
Franklin Laviola
Gina Myers
Jared Thomas
Jordan Mainzer

Contributors

James Tadd Adcox
Michael Bakkensen
Sophie Barbasch
John Raymond Barker
Jeffery Berg
P.J. Bezanson
Lee Bob Black
Jessica Blank
Mark Blankenship
Micaela Blei
Amy Braunschweiger
Jeb Brown
Jamie Carr
Laura Carter
Damien Casten
Krissa Corbett Kavouras
Jillian Coneys
Jen Davis
Chris Dippel
Claire Dippel
Amy Elkins
Mike Errico
Alaina Ferris
Lucas Foglia
Fryd Frydendahl
Tyler Gilmore
Tiffany Hairston
Django Haskins
Todd Hido
Paul Houseman
Susan Hyon
Michael Itkoff
Eric Jensen
David S. Jung
Eric Katz
Will Kenton
Michael Kingsbaker
Steven Klein
Katie Kline
Anna Kushner
Jim Knable
Jess Lacher
Chris Landriau
Caitlin Leffel
David Levi
Daniel F. Levin
Carrie Levy
Jim Lillis
Sophie Lyvoff
Max Maddock
Bob McGrory
Chris Lillis Meatto
Mark Meatto
Kevin Mueller
Chris Q. Murphy
Gina Myers
Tim Myers
Alex Nackman
Michael Nicholoff
Elisabeth Nicholson
Nicole Pettigrew
Allyson Paty
Dana Perry
Jared R. Pike
Mayumi Shimose Poe
Marisa Ptak
Sarah Robbins
Anjoli Roy
Beeb Salzer
Terry Selucky
Serious Juice
David Skeist
Suzanne Farrell Smith
Amy Stein
Jay Tarbath
Christianne Tisdale
Phillip Toledano
Joe Trapasso
Sofie van Dam
Jeff Wilser
Susan Worsham
Khaliah Williams
David Wilson
James Yeh
Bernard Yenelouis
Wayan Zoey

Listening To:

Sons of Dionysus


A Transmedia Novel of Myth, Mirth, and the Magical Excess of Youth.