Frontier Psychiatrist

May Day

Posted on: May 2, 2011

What you are about to read does not represent my best work.  I will not edit it.  I will not rearrange the paragraphs. I will not check it for spelling errors.  I will not do any of these things because I want this short piece to represent the way I feel right now, my exact state of mind on Monday, May 2, 2011 at 11:33 AM.  Like any other Monday at 11:33 AM, I am at work, and my work is relatively demanding.  But this is not any other Monday, and I cannot focus on my work today, because my thoughts are in another time, and everything I have seen and heard to day has impelled me to relive that time, like a famililar smell, like a forgotten melody.

What I have seen specifically is an interpretation of events that does not resonate with me.  There has been collective joy, patriotic chanting, and assertions of national superiority.  In short, the day has been an emotional replica of 3,520 days ago, a day on which our populus interpreted historic events as a commentary on America.

At the time, I was unable to interpret the events in this fashion.  This is because I lived on East 9th St., at the corner of Avenue A.  I do not remember feeling that my country or my freedom or my social contract were under attack.  I remember leaving my basement apartment for a black sky.  I remember not being able to breathe.  I remember not being able to get in touch with my roommate for 8 hours.  I remember an empty Canal St.  I remember not being able to cry.  I remember fearing that I would die.

In short, I never felt that my country was under attack.  I felt, rather, that my home was under attack.  That day, I felt that my home was being bombed and that I and everyone I loved might be dead by the end of the day.  In the coming days, I feared breathing in the open air.  In the coming months, I lived in a perpetual state of low-level anxiety, knowing that I would not make it crosstown if I did not get on the bus and fearing that I might not make it anyway.  In the coming years, I would move to Chicago, and I would tell people that this was simply for a “change of scenery,” when in fact I needed to be in the center of the country, away from the shores, away from New York, just to feel safe.

Of course, now I have gotten past all that.  I live in Brooklyn now, and I would not have it any other way.  But I will always feel, in the shadowed corners of my mind, that I am taking a risk.  Just by living.  I am taking a risk.

And so, I want you to understand: I am happy that Osama bin Laden is dead.  I am not ashamed of that.  I am not ashamed to be happy that another man is dead.  But I cannot wave a flag, or chant “USA,” or discuss the political implications for my president, or even discuss it with my family.  Because this event is the other side of that event, and I see through to the other side.  For America, both of these days were and are about America.  But for me, and I imagine for many of those who lived through September 11, 2001 in the city of New York, it is not.  It is about fragility and pain and fear.  It is about mortality.

I do not begrudge those whose reaction today has been different than my own, nor do I judge them harshly.  We are all entitled to experience our emotions in a personal, private way, even if that way is to make them public.  I just want them to know: this is why I will not be joining in.  It is all simply too much.

L.V. Lopez is co-editor of Frontier Psychiatrist.  He awoke that morning with his girlfriend, now wife, in her home on 120th St.  He could not reach his parents for 12 hours.

2 Responses to "May Day"

Thank you for sharing (and not editing) these thoughts. It meant something to me to read this … I suspect you’ve put into words some of my own feelings. Thank you for the words.

[…] has so far steered clear of politics or social issues, with the exception of a recent piece on the death of Osama bin Laden and another about the travails of Michigan. He might call our coverage of the arts, food, […]

Leave a Reply

Follow Us:

Send Us Your Music:

Staff

L.V. Lopez, Publisher
Keith Meatto, Editor-In-Chief
Peter Lillis, Managing Editor
Freya Bellin
Andrew Hertzberg
Franklin Laviola
Gina Myers
Jared Thomas
Jordan Mainzer

Most Viewed

Contributors

James Tadd Adcox
Michael Bakkensen
Sophie Barbasch
John Raymond Barker
Jeffery Berg
P.J. Bezanson
Lee Bob Black
Jessica Blank
Mark Blankenship
Micaela Blei
Amy Braunschweiger
Jeb Brown
Jamie Carr
Laura Carter
Damien Casten
Krissa Corbett Kavouras
Jillian Coneys
Jen Davis
Chris Dippel
Claire Dippel
Amy Elkins
Mike Errico
Alaina Ferris
Lucas Foglia
Fryd Frydendahl
Tyler Gilmore
Tiffany Hairston
Django Haskins
Todd Hido
Paul Houseman
Susan Hyon
Michael Itkoff
Eric Jensen
David S. Jung
Eric Katz
Will Kenton
Michael Kingsbaker
Steven Klein
Katie Kline
Anna Kushner
Jim Knable
Jess Lacher
Chris Landriau
Caitlin Leffel
David Levi
Daniel F. Levin
Carrie Levy
Jim Lillis
Sophie Lyvoff
Max Maddock
Bob McGrory
Chris Lillis Meatto
Mark Meatto
Kevin Mueller
Chris Q. Murphy
Gina Myers
Tim Myers
Alex Nackman
Michael Nicholoff
Elisabeth Nicholson
Nicole Pettigrew
Allyson Paty
Dana Perry
Jared R. Pike
Mayumi Shimose Poe
Marisa Ptak
Sarah Robbins
Anjoli Roy
Beeb Salzer
Terry Selucky
Serious Juice
David Skeist
Suzanne Farrell Smith
Amy Stein
Jay Tarbath
Christianne Tisdale
Phillip Toledano
Joe Trapasso
Sofie van Dam
Jeff Wilser
Susan Worsham
Khaliah Williams
David Wilson
James Yeh
Bernard Yenelouis
Wayan Zoey

Listening To:

Sons of Dionysus


A Transmedia Novel of Myth, Mirth, and the Magical Excess of Youth.